Five Minute Friday

Standard

Today I tip-toe back to this space after a long break – more on that another time.  I am using Five Minute Friday to stretch my weak and flabby writing muscles before diving into the longer stuff.  Now hosted by Kate Motaung, this same group of amazing writers continues to gather, encouraging and supporting each other as we write on a specific prompt for five minutes each week.  Today’s prompt is…

BECAUSE

because Your words are trustworthy and true

because You have proven Your faithfulness and presence time after time

because everything in this world that offers direction, advice, or hope eventually crumbles and fails

because other people – even those who love me dearly – will at some point hurt me or fail me

because this life is hard and broken and confusing

because the people I meet are also broken and confused

because no matter how often or how hard I try to do things on my own, to be self-reliant and self-sufficient and independent, I find that I stumble and fail and come up short

because I am desperately searching for joy and meaning in my life

because I want, I need answers to the pain, the search for meaning and purpose I see around me – and in my own heart

because of all these things I turn my searching, stumbling, aching, lonely heart to You.

You give abundant life.

You rescue me from this broken and desperate world.

You provide purpose and meaning.

You heal hearts and restore relationships.

You give joy when happiness and pleasure fall short.

STOP

About Heather Schlender

Hi! Welcome to my little corner of the internet. I am an architect-turned-SAHM of two adorable and energetic kids and wife to an adventure-loving man. I love good books, great coffee, and beautiful architecture. Join me on my journey through fear and faith, doubts and courage, as I discover the life of freedom and joy found in Jesus.

One response »

Leave a Reply

