Five Minute Friday: Mess

Standard

Today this beautiful community of writers practices saying, “Yes!” in the midst of life’s messes.  We declare together that we do not have to have perfect homes or children or budgets or hearts for God to use us.  And the places God asks us to serve?  They can be equally messy as well.

 

MESS

Haiti, image via Haiti ARISE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There are places in this world that seem to stagger from one disaster to the next.  They are tangled messes of poverty or war or natural disasters or neglect or the wrong kind of attention from outside powers or all of the above.  From the outside, they appear the places God has forgotten.

But He has not forgotten and He who never sleeps or slumbers is gently, quietly, actively at work.  And He invites us to join Him in the messy places.  We whose lives may appear so tidy – who want so desperately to appear to have it together – but whose hearts are tangled messes of spiritual poverty, wounds caused by a war of words, disastrous circumstances, neglect or the wrong kind of attention.   We are Messy People invited to serve in messy places so that our perfect, gracious, loving Father may fix the messes in us all.

I am traveling to Haiti in a few short weeks – more on this later! – and the devastation there, even four years after the earthquake, is still staggering.  In so many ways I feel ill-equipped and ill-prepared to serve there.  And I am entirely overwhelmed by the need and the scale of the mess.  Our good God, though, He says I am a rebuilder-of-ancient-ruins.  We His messy children are called, are empowered by His transformation in us to restore devastated places and renew long-ruined cities.  Stone by stone, we clear the rubble.  And as the dust clears and the ruins take shape into something new, God’s glory shines through.

STOP
Five Minute Friday

 

About Heather Schlender

Hi! Welcome to my little corner of the internet. I am an architect-turned-SAHM of two adorable and energetic kids and wife to an adventure-loving man. I love good books, great coffee, and beautiful architecture. Join me on my journey through fear and faith, doubts and courage, as I discover the life of freedom and joy found in Jesus.

6 responses »

  1. I’ll be praying for your trip to a “messy” place that God holds dear in His heart. And I look forward to hearing more about it in the future!

  2. Who are you going to Haiti with? I have been twice, it is life changing. I have left part of my heart there.

    • I am going with Engineering Ministries International, an organization that provides architectural and engineering design services to organizations serving in struggling nations.

      • I went with Mission Haiti. They are a local group out of New Morgan Hill Baptist. We were in a village about 30 miles North of Port a Prince.

Leave a Reply

