Five Minute Friday: Writer

Standard

Lisa-Jo’s book , Surprised by Motherhood, came out on Friday, and I am so incredibly excited about it!!  I cannot wait to read it! In honor of her book, our prompt is…

WRITER

Fresh out of college and clueless as to what came next, I applied to graduate school in non-fiction writing. I enjoyed writing, I had a degree in it and so this seemed the logical next step. I applied to 5 or 6 schools and didn’t get in. To a single one. To say this was a shock for this academic achiever would be an understatement!
Funnily enough, by the time I received rejection letters from the schools my life was taking a different turn and I wasn’t sure I wanted to be a professional writer any more. I was starting to understand that sometimes the things you love to do aren’t necessarily good career choices. I experienced something similar a few years later when I realized that working in outdoor education was taking away the joy I had in being outside. There are things we love to do, things we are good at, that we can most beautifully use in the margins of our life.
For me crafting sentences and stories is one of those things. Those rejection letters did a number to my confidence as a writer. But I can remember that, even in the midst of the confusion, there was a steady whisper from God: Not yet, my child. This is not how I want you to use this gift. Wait and trust me, and when the time is right I will show you how this piece fits into the puzzle picture of your life. And so I held it close and poured my heart into stacks of journals and drove my architecture professors crazy with five page papers turned twenty pages because I had too many words pent up in me- and brevity has never been my strong suit! Now, in this crazy season of life, I have found an outlet in this little space as I pound out the words swirling in my head.
STOP

( I am typing this on my phone so I’m not going to bother to include all the links and fancy buttons and such. And my son just crawled down the hall with a contraband pencil so I must hit publish if this is ever going to see the light of day!)
 

About Heather Schlender

Hi! Welcome to my little corner of the internet. I am an architect-turned-SAHM of two adorable and energetic kids and wife to an adventure-loving man. I love good books, great coffee, and beautiful architecture. Join me on my journey through fear and faith, doubts and courage, as I discover the life of freedom and joy found in Jesus.

Leave a Reply

